Lake Macquarie History

Mawson Close

In 1944, the Mawson family acquired land in Caves Beach. Wilfred Arthur (Art) Mawson was a Swansea hotelkeeper and businessman. He later became a director of the Silver Valley minerals consortium. For a time the town was named Mawson. Mawson Close, a 1968 street, was part of the Mawson Estate. It provides access to the beach and car park. During the 1960's Art Mawson donated the Mawson Lookout to the public.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]