Lake Macquarie History

Brooks Street

Originally named Arcadia Street in 1922, Brooks Street was renamed in 1972 after Thomas Brooks who received a large land grant in 1878. According to a more recent source, Arcadia Road was renamed Brooks Street after written request from Mrs M Snedden. The change in name also helped clear confusion, particularly for emergency response services, due to the previous existance of both an Aracadia Street and Road. Arcadia Road was an extension of Brooks Street therefore it was suggested it be changed to Brooks Street to stop the confusion.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]