Lake Macquarie History

Hillhouse Street

Hillhouse Street was named in 1969.

Members of the Hillhouse family - William, Gwendolin and Jane - lived in thie area of EK Avenue and Kura Street from 1949 (NSW Electoral Rolls). It is believed the street name originates from this family who were the developers of the estate in 1969.

It is believed that the developer didn't want the street to be a thoroughfare, and purchased land at the end so it would always be a culdesac His son nearly drowned at a local beach and the man who saved his son was given the choice of any of the blocks of land in the street. He chose the top corner block.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]