Lake Macquarie History

Bareki Road

The Shire engineer Ivor Allomes said a name change was necessary because of a part construction of a new main road deviation through Eleebana. The Eleebana School organised the first Bareki Festival in place of the annual school fete, the festival was such a success that the Progress Association lobbied the Council to name this road Bareki Road (Source: "Eleebana Public School: Fifty Years in Public Education 1955-2005).

Bareki Road was gazetted on 20 August 1965 renaming parts of Birubi Close and Macquarie Drive, MR 527 (Source: NHM 18 May 1965). Bareki is an Aboriginal word meaning water (Source: Australian Aboriginal Words by AH and AW Reed).

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]