Lake Macquarie History

Macquarie Drive

Unnamed on early plans it was a government road. During 1934 to 1936, the first road from Warners Bay through Eleebana to Valentine was constructed by dole labour. On a 1955 Council plan, it is named Esplanade, a continuation of The Esplanade from Warners Bay. Part of MR 527 it was probably renamed around 1965 when road works were carried out.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]