Lake Macquarie History

Stenhouse Drive

A LMCC built subdivision in 1984. It was named after John Wilson Stenhouse. Following the proclamation of the Shire of Lake Macquarie on 6 March 1906 Stenhouse was appointed Chairman of the Temporary Council. He also served four terms as a Councillor including a term as President.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]