Lake Macquarie History

Marks Point Road

Originally an unnamed road it was later called Government Road. There were subdivisions in 1902 and 1909, a land auction was held here in 1915 by Lang Wood and Co. of John and James Marks' property. Marks Point was a popular site, and land sold well.

Leading to the point its name was eventually changed to Marks Point Road. There was a property near here owned by William Arnott Winn (grandson of the owner of Arnott's biscuits and proprietor of Winn's store in Newcastle).

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]