Lake Macquarie History

Marmong Street

In early times part of this street was named Wall Street. Often it was just called the 'back street'. Council said that the early plans for Marmong streets are missing. In early times, there was a wooden bridge over the mouth of Marmong Creek and a section of road used to be subject to flooding until the present concrete bridge was built.

A section of road runs alongside the swamp and one of the Aboriginal meanings of Marmong is 'a low swampy place'. The town's third shop owned by W. Kyle was here. Mrs Carpenter had a lending library and Miller's tennis court was along this street. Prior to 1936 the portion of Marmong Street known locally as 'the back street' was yet unformed. Three uniform paths made by horse and carts were all that signified a road.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]