Lake Macquarie History

Ibis Close

The ibis belongs to the stork and heron family of birds. Ibis Close was named in 1994.

Ibis Close was named by Ellen Monica March née Mariner, who moved to what was Lot 20 Government Road - now 4 Mynah Close - in the late 1940’s, where the family developed a small acreage. In the 1980’s she was asked what she would like to name the cul de sac that was created during the development. She said she had always loved to see the ibises winging their way across the sky in the sunset to land in paddock we called Mandy’s Yard. So it was named Ibis Close.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]