Lake Macquarie History

Soldiers Road

Soldiers Road was part of George Carnley's Estate subdivision in 1937. The Pelican Flat RSL sub-branch received its charter in 1939 though meetings would have commenced earlier. Some streets in this estate weren't registered until 1941. This street name would have come from this RSL beginning. The RSL Memorial Ladies Hall and the RSL Memorial Park are here and the Pelican Flat RSL Club Pty Ltd building alongside in Piriwal Street. In 1938 the school opened in this street at the intersection with the Pacific Highway. Originally named Marks Point School its name was changed to Pelican Flat School in 1950. It moved to Karog Street in 1955.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]