Lake Macquarie History

Dorrington Road

Originally named Rathmines Road it was renamed Dorrington Road on 11 September 1940. In 1964 Dorrington Road was extended. Believed to be named after Francis John Dorrington, Wangi pioneer, a member of the Wangi Progress Association and Lake Macquarie Shire Councillor. Improvements to roads connecting Wangi, Rathmines etc were largely attributed to him.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]