Lake Macquarie History

Speers Street

Originally named Third Street in the 1902 Sulphide Corporation subdivision, it was renamed Speers Street in 1929 after William Speer, a Sydney alderman who acquired part of William Brooks' land in 1870. A boat builder named Les Steel lived in this street and his workshop was at the rear of his house. Steel is remembered for building the 35 foot cutter 'Rani' the winner of the first Sydney to Hobart yacht race in 1945.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]