Lake Macquarie History

The Esplanade

Originally called Government Road. The name Esplanade was used in Warners subdivision map of 1879. Land sales were held in 1902 and the first all weather road to Warners Bay constructed in 1904. Road sealing along the waterfront was done in the early 1930's. An early dance hall was built by and located between the hotel and park gates. It is thought the hall may have been demolished some time after the publican subdivided Mary Street in 1934. The Esplanade is part of Main Road 674 and was extended to Speers Point Roundabout in 1973.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]