Lake Macquarie History

Blair Street

In early times was called Jock Blair's street after a resident who used to row people to Boolaroo or Speers Point before the bridge was built. With one end at the Main Road and the other end at the subway under the railway line to Monkeytown, it was a good place for Mrs Pykes general store. The closing of the wooden subway constructed 51 years ago was notified in the NMH 5 March 1940. This was replaced by a concrete subway, which was necessary for stormwater run off from Sager's Gully. The subway is still used by pedestrians. The kids used to look in wonder at Mr Wilson's house where the signs said it was a 'shortwave radio station'.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]