Lake Macquarie History

Elford Street

Originally, this was part of the Terzeny Park farm and was named William Street in the Sunderland subdivision in 1883. Renamed because there was another William Street in Toronto, it was gazetted Elford Street on the 28 September 1956 from a LMSC street name list. Elford is a town in the UK. There is an industrial area in this street.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]