Lake Macquarie History

Gosford Road

In 1914 when Gosford Road was named, it was part of the boundary between Lake Macquarie and Erina Shire Council areas. Gosford Road was named after the largest town in Erina Shire Council area. The Erina Shire Council was formed in January 1907 and commencing below Catherine Hill Bay it covered a huge area. In 1947, Erina Shire ceased to exist when Wyong and Gosford Councils were created. Part of Gosford Road was renamed Bushells Ridge Road by LMCC, notified in "The Post" newspaper, 16 January 2008.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]