Lake Macquarie History

Lake Macquarie Citizens of the Year

Since its inception in 1981, Lake Macquarie Citzen of the year has been held in conjunction with Australia Day celebrations. The award recognises local Lake Macquarie individuals and groups based in the City who help, organise, give or campaign for the benefit of others.

The City’s most prestigious honour, the Citizen of the Year Award is given to the person who has made the most outstanding contribution for the benefit of the community or environment.

The table below lists current and past recipients of this award. Awards for Young Citizen of the Year have also been made, and in 2018 a Contribution to Lake Macquarie Award was initiated.

Year Recipient Recognition
2019 Kerriann Dunn Recognised for her community and leadership roles in the Aboriginal Community
2018 Andreena Kardamis Recognised for her community work and her appointment as 2018 Youth Advocate for the United Nations
2017 John Cleary Recognised for his advocacy of victims of childhood sexual abuse and his role in giving them a voice.
2016 Geraldine Moran Recognised for her work with Windale’s Centre for Hope, which aims to transform the lives of “at risk” children aged six to18 years of age.
2015 Grace McLean Services to the networking, mutual support and training benefits for the Not-for-Profit sector
2014 David Helmers Assistance with establishing Australian Men's Shed in Windale in 2006
2013 Melinda Brown Service and dedication to the education of Aboriginal students
2012 Gae Miller Volunteering and dedication to creating specialised holidays for people with disabilities
2011 Michael Cowan Inspiring others through his penny-farthing and unicycle fundraising bike rides
2010 June Cameron Service to the community in her work through Guides, teaching hearing impaired students and extensive involvement with the Uniting Church
2009 Hiskelina (Lyn) Thorpe Service and recognition of her tireless humanitarian work
2008 Graham Burgess Recognised for his work with the Josephite Refugee Network, which helps refugees in Lake Macquarie and Newcastle.
2007 Herbert Reay Contribution to the disabled through the Sailability Program and to the sailing community
2006 Jan Walmsley Contribution to and involvement in palliative care, including voluntary work with Westlakes Palliative Care, the Wig Library, the National Loss and Grief Association, Camp Quality and Hunter Palliative Care
2005 Geoffrey McGregor Service and contribution to Brass Banding
2004 Barry Evans Service and commitment to the Windale area for many years in his work with youth, prison ministry and disabled
2003 Peter Joyce Working beyond the call of duty in his service to the disabled, particularly with The House With No Steps
2002 Alistair Fyfe Service to the community through the Lion's Club International, Warners Bay
2001 Lynn Hart Voluntary work with St John Ambulance and Holy Cross Catholic Chuch, Glendale
2000 Cecil Davidson Service to the community through Toronto RSL sub-branch
1999 Clara Foster Recognition of her years of service with Newcastle Sudden Infant Death Association (SIDS)
1998 Doug Oliver Service to the Air Training Corps of NSW and the youth of the Hunter
1997 Stephen Beazley Service to youth, art, special education and the community
1996 Daryl Marshall Services to his community, state and nation for over 30 years
1995 Russell Deaves For his tireless work during the disastrous bush fires in January 1994
1994 Elaine Lenaghan For service and devotion to the community, particularly the Stroke and Disability Information (Hunter) Incorporated and other community care organisations
1993 Bruce Tarrant Services to youth and the disadvantaged through his involvement with the Police Citizens Youth Club
1992 John Thoroughgood Services to the community and through his work with Apex Club
1991 John Comyn Untiring service to the community
1990 Nance Adam Serving the community through cubs and guiding movements and sports groups
1989 Irene Rose Services to the Bicentenary and other community work
1988 John Kilpatrick Services to the community through Lions Club
1987 Beryl Bailey Service to the Girl Guides
1986 unknown unknown
1985 unknown unknown
1984 Algirdus 'Geat' Ulanas For his role as conductor, musician, federation member
1983 unknown unknown
1982 Frank Watkins unknown
1981 Carl Ross For services to youth in the Morisset community