Lake Macquarie History

Roland Robinson Literary Award 1998

In 1998 the prize was awarded for poetry

photo: roland robinson cover art 1998

First Prize

David Kirkby - Junga Jimi (True story)

Second Prize

Judy Johnson - Rainforests Bats

Third Prize

Bill Charlton - Two White Hankies

Commendation Prizes

Jan Dean - Cousin Crush

Anne Hellwig - Untitled

Ferma McLean - Lakeside Morning Walk

Clayton Moriceau - Coils of Spring

Dave Robson - Backyard Cricket

Young Poet's Prizes

Meyrelle Fernandes - Ben

Eden Robertson - The Night Sky

Harley Swan - Spiders

Commendation Certificates

Kevin Byrnes - Decisions, Decisions

Kevin Byrnes - Decision – Let’s Go

Jan Dean - World Pool, Newcastle

Bob Elks - Mad Cow Mantra

Julie Homard - One Friday

Judy Johnson - Shipwrecks

Geoff Keen - Baker’s Dozen

David Kibble - Old Man

Noreen Munson - Little Paper People – for T.D

Edward Payne - Timber Images

Beryl Smith - Lorikeets

Hulda Turner - Lake Macquarie Paper-barks

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]