Lake Macquarie History

Roland Robinson Literary Award 2004

In 2004 the prize was awarded for poetry

photo: roland robinson cover art 2004

First Prize

Christopher Brown - Escarpment

Second Prize

Jan Dean - A Painted Summer: Carcoar, 1977

Third Prize

Patrick Cullen - “The Sea, the Sea…”

Commendation Prizes

Magdalena Ball - Exile

Mark d’Arbon - Verandah People

Robin Loftus - Masked Swallow and Goshawk

Commendation Certificates

Peter Bower - Photograph

Patrick Cullen - My Boy Joe's Museum

Mark d’Arbon - I Hate Red

Jan Dean - Oriental Presence

Brett Duff - Alive

Danny Gentile - Matchhead

Zeny Giles - Great Thursday

Zeny Giles - Resolution

Eve Gray - Owen, a Bloke

Mark Liston - I Remember a Fishing Spot

Lynnette Lounsbury - New Lambton Park

Kerri Shying - Early Involutional Change

Andrew Slattery - The Body and the Sea

Young Poet's Prize

Anna Langdon - The Refugee

Young Poet's Commendation Prize

Thomas McCallum - Magic Island

Young Poet's Commendation Certificates

Sarah Kate Charlton-Riley - Shadow Friend

Jessica Jovanovic - Room

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]