Lake Macquarie History

Blackall Avenue

Blackall Avenue was part of Lucy Ann Blackall's land sale held in 1916. This street leads to the park and picnic area, there used to be swimming baths here. William and Lucy Blackall built their home named 'Fernbank' in Blackall Avenue. Around 1925 the house became known as 'Araluen' and later 'Blackalls House'. The house was demolished in 2007. For more information, see 'Blackalls Park' by Dulcie Hartley.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]