Lake Macquarie History

Burlington Close

Just down the road from 46 Harris St Cameron Park are the Cardiff Railway Workshops. These workshops were established in 1925 to service railway rolling stock and many overseas engineers visited the facility on about 70 ha purchased from the Newcastle Wallsend Coal Company. Among the visitors over the years were engineers from Burlington Railway Company of North America. Although the Burlington Railway Company dates from earlier than Cardiff Workshops, much of the extensive track, rolling stock and switch technology can be traced to Cardiff. See: NSW Government Gazette notice dated 7 August, 2015, Folio 2452.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]