Lake Macquarie History

Holy Flat, Cameron Park

An Early name for the suburb of Estelville (now Cameron Park). Originally became Estelville in a subdivision held in 1905, and named after Jack Estell, a local politician. The name changed to Cameron Park and was gazetted in 2001.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us history@lakemac.nsw.gov.au