Lake Macquarie History

Bay Road

Originally named Lake Crescent, possibly in 1915, it was gazetted Bay Road on 17 April 1964. Residents say it gets its name from its destination, Fennell Bay. The childcare centre and shopping centre are on this road. Walker's tennis court was built about 1930, using ants' nests from the bush.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]