Lake Macquarie History

First Street

Government Road ran from Main Road to the early punt crossing over Cockle Creek operated by Willie War, a Chinese man. It was renamed First Street in the Sulphide Corporation subdivisions of 1896 and 99. There is evidence of several early shops having been here. Watkins Bridge, built in 1899, was named after Davey Watkins M.P.. About the turn of the nineteenth century a sawmill owned by Mr Findlay was on the Boolaroo side of Watkins Bridge. During the 1930's motor cycle hill climb, events were held here going up Munibung Hill. During the 1930's the council decided to rename the numbered streets after former councillors' names. First Street became George Street after George Hardy. The Newcastle Morning Herald on 4 January, 1939 states that this had been reversed.

Government Gazette of 24th June 1938, No.99 Folio 2497 "Street now known as George Street to be known as First Street"

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us history@lakemac.nsw.gov.au