Lake Macquarie History

Second Street

Second Street was included in the 1899 Sulphide Corporation subdivision. Main Road 217 over Watkins Bridge was later diverted to go up Second Street instead of First Street. The Westlake's Printers situated on this street, was established in 1960. During the 1930's the council decided to rename the numbered streets after former councillors' names. Second Street became Henry Street after Henry Richards. The Newcastle Morning Herald on 4 January, 1939 states that this had been reversed. Some early movies were shown in the Sulphide Hall in Second Street.

Government Gazette of 24th June 1938, No.99 Folio 2497 "Street now known as Henry Street to be known as Second Street"

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]