Lake Macquarie History

Fourth Street

Fourth Street was part of the 1899 subdivision by the Sulphide Corporation. W. Davies opened the first service station in 1932 in Hawkins building facing into Fourth Street, this was a closed in 2011. The former Co-Op Store had a milk depot here. Fourth Street was re-named William Street after a former shire councillor. This was later changed back to the original.

Government Gazette of 24th June 1938, No.99 Folio 2497 "Street now known as William Street to be known as Fourth Street"

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]