Lake Macquarie History

Primrose Street

As stated on an LMSC street name list, Primrose Street was named in 1955. St Paul's High School was built in 1984. A hut from the Greta army camp was relocated onto Catholic Church property in 1963 where church services were then held. (Source: "Westlake's Advertiser" 21 January 1981). The building is currently occupied by the St Vincent de Paul Society.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]