Lake Macquarie History

Ranclaud Street

Named in 1924 after James St John Ranclaud, the recipient of the original land grant (recorded in 1829), which James Mitchell later largely acquired. Most of the first 72 Housing Commission homes built in Booragul were in this street. E. Jones built the shop and the first Post Office. The Housing Commission once had an office building in this street. Two buildings were relocated from Rathmines Air Base. One was for the Church of England Community Hall and doctors' surgery. The Catholic Diocese received the other one for a church hall. St Michaels Church was built in 1985. In 1998 the ex Rathmines Church Hall was destroyed by fire (NH 18 May 1998). A new brick hall was later erected on the site. Ranclaud Street is a significant street with access to Woodrising, Marmong Point, three schools, and the highway and not far from the train station.

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]