Lake Macquarie History

Beeson Street

Built in 1921 it was in Charles Ellis's land sale and originally named John Street after a family member, renamed later because there is another John Street in Cardiff. It was renamed Beeson Street at the request of Cardiff South Progress Association to honour an old resident of Cardiff and his family, active in local organisations (Source: "NMH" 21 May 1957).

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]