Lake Macquarie History

Crockett Street

Leads to Warners Bay, it was originally named Henry Street, after a family member in John Jones' 1876 subdivision, renamed in later years because there was another Henry Street in Cardiff. Crockett Street was named at the request of Cardiff South Progress Association to honour an old resident of Cardiff and his family who were active in local organisations. This family established a plaster works in Cardiff South (Source NMH 21 May 1957).

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]