Lake Macquarie History

Myuna Bay

Name Origin:

The placename of Myuna Bay in the Parish of Awaba was assigned the designation of suburb and the boundaries defined by the NSW Geographical Names Board on 31 May 1991.

On early maps the bay was named Pantaloon Bay. Myuna is an Aboriginal word meaning "clear water" ( Maynard). "Whiteheads Lagoon is in Myuna Bay, named after a Frenchman who came to the area with his three nephews and tried to grow grapes there" . (Source: "NMH" 2 May 1970).

European History

The Myuna Colliery, owned by Centennial Coal, opened in 1981 to supply coal to the Eraring Power Station.


Maynard, John & Maynard, John, 1954- 2004, Awabakal word finder : an Aboriginal dictionary and dreaming stories companion, Keeaira Press, Southport, Qld

Streets in Myuna Bay

Acknowledgement of Country

We remember and respect the Ancestors who cared for and nurtured this Country. It is in their footsteps that we travel these lands and waters. Lake Macquarie City Council acknowledges the Awabakal people and Elders past, present and future.

Council acknowledges traditional custodians throughout Australia. We commit to listening deeply to and collaborating with First Peoples in our work.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website and Council's cultural collections may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

This website may contain place names, opinions and terms that reflect authors' views or those of the period in which the item was written or recorded. These may not be considered appropriate today.

If you experience any issues with the website or its content please contact us [email protected]